Joseph Lee

Joseph Lee

 

Joseph Lee

Joseph Lee began his dance training at the age of seventeen. He graduated from the Chinese University of Hong Kong with a bachelor in Professional Accountancy, then obtained his Master of Arts in Contemporary Dance at The Place, London Contemporary Dance School in the UK in 2015. He joined the Unlock Dancing Plaza as resident artist until 2020 when he was appointed as Associate Art Director. Lee is active in expanding the audience’s imaginary horizons of choreography by creating and performing with the body and other alternatives. His recent interests lie in the reading, transfer and reenactment of bodily experience and in questioning the performance nature of everyday life in our contemporary society.

Lee has collaborated with various art units. In 2017, he curated with independent dance artist KT Yau for re: do/ Joseph Lee/ KT Yau, which was the first local crowd-funded performance. The production toured in the Beijing Dance Festival, International Performance & Dance Festival in Mainz, City Contemporary Dance Festival in Hong Kong as well as Guangdong Dance Festival.

Lee was awarded Hong Kong Arts Development Award for “Young Artist” (2017) and the ChinLin Foundation for “Emerging Choreographer Award” (2016). He is also one of the members of iCoDaCo (International Contemporary Dance Collective), a two-year project to create a collective co-creation with five other choreographers from different European countries.

His main choreographies include It tastes like you, Folding Echoes, The World Was Once Flat and Drifting.

Related Programme

李偉能

李偉能

 

李偉能

十七歲開始接觸現代舞,畢業於香港中文大學專業會計系,2015年於英國倫敦當代舞蹈學院取得藝術碩士學位(當代舞)。畢業回港後隨即加入不加鎖舞踊館為駐團藝術家,2020年獲委任為副藝術總監。李偉能一直致力以身體及不同領域的創作與表演,打開觀眾對舞蹈的想像。近年關注身體的經驗如何被閱讀,轉移及重現,以及植根於當代社會富表演感的日常生活狀態提出疑問和反思。

李偉能曾先後跟多個藝術團體及組織合作。2017年與獨立藝術家邱加希共同策劃《re:do/ Joseph Lee/ KT Yau》,為首個以眾籌方式營運的演出製作。作品曾於北京舞蹈雙周、德國美茵茲的國際表演藝術節、城市當代舞蹈節、廣東現代舞周中作巡迴演出。

李偉能曾獲香港藝術發展獎的藝術新秀獎 (2017) 及菁霖文化藝術基金頒發新晉編舞獎 (2016)。同時亦為國際當代舞蹈平台  (International Contemporary Dance Collective) 成員之一,與另外五位來自歐洲各國的藝術家進行為期兩年的駐地、創作及巡演。

重要作品包括《It taste like you》、《回聲摺疊》、《世界(曾經)是平的》、《出竅》。

相關節目