Art Walk: Before a Passage

2021.04.14 - 2021.04.25
x

Awaiting

A Turn to Go Over

 

An interdisciplinary orchestration of visual arts, interactive installations, soundscape, movement performance, site-specific writing and reading, Before a Passage meanders at the North Point (East) Pier as it looks upon the adjacent North Point Car Ferry and its eponymous poem by Hong Kong poet Leung Ping-kwan (Yasi).

Collaboratively created by ceramicist Annie Wan, media artist Kingsley Ng, composer Fung Lam, choreographer Chloe Wong, curator Stephanie Cheung and a team of cross-disciplinary art practitioners, Before a Passage awaits people from all corners.

Amidst moving lights and pensive sound, step onto ceramic fragments, sway on contemplative swings, make an unanswered call… Walk, and let it sink in, here and now.

  • Language is not a barrier in this programme.
  • All activities will take place on the 2/F of the pier. There will be no ferry ride.
  • Suitable for all ages. For those aged below 18 must be accompanied by an adult, and please notice that one place for one person only

Collaboratively Created by

Ceramics: Annie Wan

Annie Wan is an Associate Professor at the Academy of Visual Arts, Hong Kong Baptist University. She earned a Bachelor’s and a Master’s degree from the Fine Arts Department of the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 1996 and 1999 respectively. Wan has participated in various local and overseas exhibitions, and the recognitions she earned include Asian Cultural Council Fellowship in 2000, the Artist-in-Residence programme by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. She was an award winner at the Hong Kong Art Biennial in 2003. She has been an artist-in-residence at institutions in the US, Japan and Denmark from 2001 to 2004. Wan was a Guest Artist invited by Shigaraki Ceramic Cultural Park in Japan in 2011. She was also being invited to represent Hong Kong to participate in the Gwangju Biennale 2016 and Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale 2019.

Media Installation: Kinsley Ng

An interdisciplinary artist specialising in site- and context-specific works, Kingsley Ng uses intangible media, such as light and sound, to cast light on what is usually overlooked. Recent projects include Twenty-Five Minutes Older, which transforms moving trams into mobile camera obscuras; After the Deluge, presented in an underground stormwater tank of the size of 40 Olympic-sized swimming pools; and Aria, a promenade journey of arts and music in a night-time greenhouse. His works have been featured in many notable institutions, such as IRCAM – Centre Pompidou in France, Museum of Contemporary Art of Rome in Italy, Contemporary Art Centre of South Australia, InterAccess Electronic Media Arts Centre in Canada, Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennial in Japan, Guangzhou Triennial in China, Lille Europe Pavilion in Shanghai Expo, Land Art Biennial in Mongolia, etc. He received an Asian Cultural Council fellowship in 2013.

Soundscape: Fung Lam

Fung Lam’s music has been performed in some of the most prestigious venues in the world, such as Carnegie Hall in New York, Konzerthaus Berlin, Sydney Opera House, Royal Albert Hall and Southbank Centre in London. He holds the distinction of being the first Hong Kong composer to be commissioned by the BBC. His prolific output includes orchestral works Endless Forms, premiered at the BBC Proms in 2012, and Quintessence, written in celebration of the 40th anniversary of the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra. Besides concert music, he has also composed for dance, theatre, sound installation and multi-media works. He holds a doctorate in composition from the University of Sussex, and has served as Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra’s Composer-in-Residence and Director of Artistic Planning. He was awarded the Young Artist Award 2011 from the Hong Kong Arts Development Council.

Body Movement Choreography: Chloe Wong Ching-ting

Chloe Wong Ching-ting graduated from the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and holds a Masters of Arts in Dance from Hollins University. She completed an Acting & Performing course in Prague, Czech Republic in 2012. She is currently the Subject Coordinator of Performing Arts (MMPA) at the HKICC Lee Shau Kee School of Creativity. Recent works include: Maybe Tomorrow@Freespace(2020), presented by The West Kowloon Cultural District; The 48th Hong Kong Arts Festival commission work Our Atlas (2020); Maybe Tomorrow (2018), a touring performance in Hong Kong supported by Jockey Club New Arts Power (JCNAP); her site-specific creation Light Flight the Night (2018), nominated for Outstanding Site-specific Performance and Outstanding Ensemble Performance at the Hong Kong Dance Awards; Heaven Behind the Door II (2017), selected for the 14th Prague Quadrennial – PQ Studio Festival in 2019; the 9th Busan International Dance Market in South Korea in 2018 ; and the Internationale Tanzmesse nrw in Dusseldorf, Germany in 2016. She has also been invited to participate in residency exchange programmes at OzAsia Festival “Dance Lab” in Adelaide in Australia, supported by HKADC (2017–2019); Biennale CINARS 2018 in Montreal, Canada, supported by HKADC (2018); and Dancehouse in Melbourne, support by WKCDA (2019).

Curation: Stephanie Cheung

Stephanie Cheung specialises in art outside the white cube, curating process-based projects in public spaces and communities. Recent projects include Hi! Hill, a community-based art project in a 600-year-old village; Haneure Byeolttagi, a public art project co-created with families in Gyeongju, South Korea; and The Practice of Everyday Life, a cross-disciplinary exhibition about sustainable living at Oi! (Oil Street Art Space). She is also a writer and her mix-media reading installations have been presented in Taiwan, the UK, America and Canada. She received an Asian Cultural Council fellowship in 2015.

Happenings Performers

Movement Performance: King Lo King-sang

King Lo King-san graduated in 2015 from The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts majoring in Contemporary Dance, and received his master’s degree from London Contemporary Dance School in 2017. He is currently a freelance dancer, actively engaged in collaborations with local and international artists and dance companies, including Laura Aris (Spain), Clod Ensemble (UK), Neon Dance (UK), Philippe Blanchard (France), Panorama Dance Theatre (Switzerland), Y-Space, Katie Yau and Wayson Poon, just to name a few.

Movement Performance: Gabbie Chan

A core member of Passoverdance. She graduated from the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. Major in Chinese Dance. From 2012 to 2014, Chan joined the Dance Art company. In 2018, Chan was invited to join the New Force in Motion Series to present the work Lördagsgodis. Chan’s work The 16th Day was presented by The Hong Kong Arts Festival in 2016 and the City Contemporary Dance Festival in 2017. Besides, Chan is working in Arts education and studying Expressive Arts Therapy at the same time. She aimed to encourage student’s creativity in choreography and experience various movement qualities together with self-growth and development.

Music Performance (To be announced soon)

Technical Team

Technical Direction: Jason Wong

A set and video designer, Jason Wong has worked with groups such as All Theatre Art Association, Hong Kong Dance Company, and the children’s and youth troupes of the Company, among others. He is active in multi-arts productions and has overseen technical designs of Twenty-Five Minutes Older (Kingsley Ng) and Hi! Houses (Jaffa Lam x Sam Tung Uk Museum), in which he skilfully blended audio, visual and kinetic elements with his inventiveness.

Installation Coordination: Ting Lap-tak

Ting Lap-tak, is an independent artist graduated from AVA HKBU. His works begin with an exploration of his own sense, focus on conceptual and material based, through sculpture, installation visually appear.

Installation Coordination: Tse Chun-sing

Tse Chun Sing’s art explores possibilities in the often unnoticed daily objects or events, and presents the intriguing relationships through installations. With a passion for sounds, he explores various sounds and presents his imaginations and discoveries in his artworks.

Installation Production: Studio Mary

Studio Mary is a design practice in Hong Kong. We work on all areas of design, but pay particular attention to idea generation. When we take on a project, we see to all phases of the strategic and creative process and come up with coherent physical and virtual experiences.

Carpentry: Lam Che

Veteran carpenter with over 30 years of experience. In recent years, he has been giving discarded wood a second life with his exquisite craftsmanship, and teaching the young generation the traditional mortise and tenon technique.

Lighting Design: Mousey Tse

A member of Heteroglossia, Mousey Tse majored in the Humanities and received his Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from Hong Kong Baptist University. Later he received Bachelor of Fine Arts (Honours) from Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, majoring in Theatre Lighting Design. He has served as lighting designer and production manager for West Kowloon Cultural District, Hong Kong Arts Festival, HKRep, Hong Kong Dance Company, HKAPA, Hong Kong Jockey Club, Hong Kong Arts Centre, On and On Theatre Workshop, Tang Shu-wing Theatre Studio, RhapsoArts, Richochet Ensemble, Ho Bit Goon, Radix Troupe, Whole Theatre Limited, Wanchai Theatre, Pants Theatre Production, Theatre Ronin, Class 7A Drama Group and Piece by Piece Theatre, among others. Currently he is a freelance theatre lighting designer and production manager while serving as part-time lecturer in the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts.

Sound Engineering: Anthony Yeung

Graduated in 1991 and received a MFA degree in 2015. He is a theatre sound designer, a studio sound engineer and a sound art enthusiasm. In 2003 and 2017 he received the Best Sound Design in the 12th Hong Kong Drama Award, and the ‘Outstanding Sound Design’ in the 19th Hong Kong Dance Awards, respectively.

Costume Design: Hofi Man Ho-yin

Hofi Man Ho-yin graduated from The Hong Kong Polytechnic University’s Institute of Textiles and Clothing, and Hong Kong Baptist University’s Academy of Visual Arts. He is currently completing an MA in History of Design and Material Culture at the University of Brighton. His research focuses on the reconstruction of meanings of objects and space, objects as testimony to human existence, and the aesthetics of ordinary objects. He traces residues of life and intimate feelings in clothes, so as to recover the essence lost in extreme capitalism. His works have been exhibited internationally. The Museum of Innocence and Mukoda Kuniko’s Love Letter were finalists of the Hong Kong Young Fashion Designers’ Contest in 2016 and 2018 respectively. Having been a fashion designer, stylist, cinematic costume assistant, culture editor and more, his greatest joy is still making clothes for people he likes.

Project Team

Project Management + Story Collection: Nicky Liang

Nicky Liang graduated from the Faculty of Arts of The University of Hong Kong, and is now enjoying himself in the field of arts administration after a stint in journalism. He previously took part in Storyline (2018), a socially engaged art programme; and The Practice of Everyday Life (2020), a cross-disciplinary exhibition at Oi! exploring a sustainable tomorrow. He was the project manager of Aria (2020), a resilient international production successfully staged despite the COVID-19 pandemic; and a curatorial team member of the site-specific project Hi! Hill (2018).

Floor Management: Felix Yiu

Felix Yiu is a jewellery designer. After learning about handmade jewellery in Europe, she discovered that the ancient craft is an art. As a homegrown Hong Konger, she puts her own spin on traditional European techniques. Besides designing jewellery, in recent years she has also helped organise arts and cultural activities, by which she feels the healing power of art and keeps her creativity flowing.

Happenings Execution + Admin and Logistical Support: Chan Tsz-lam

Graduated from Lingnan University with a major in Cultural Studies. A performing art lover that is pursuing a career in art administration.

Happenings Execution + Admin and Logistical Support: Joyce Siu

Graduated from The Chinese University of Hong Kong. An art administrator that aspires to hone backstage management skills. An avid bowling player.

Video Coordination: Jessie Coo

Jessie Coo graduated from The University of Hong Kong majoring in both Comparative Literature and Media and Cultural Studies. Currently an arts and community project coordinator and a film producer. Her work Piled Cloud has been selected by Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival, South Taiwan Film Festival and others. It is also the winner of Silver Award (Open Category) at the 23rd ifva Awards, and Best Screenplay at the 11th Fresh Wave International Short Film Festival. Ever since she has produced other programmes commissioned by Radio Television Hong Kong, including Bethanie, Ding Feng Po and Along the River.

Video Production: On the Paper

Photography is a commonly used medium in everyday life; On the Paper believes that the most beautiful images are presented on paper. Founded in 2009, On the Paper specialises in camera-based work, from photography to videography and virtual reality. Besides the key moments of presentation, good documentation and representation are also indispensable for contemporary art. On the Paper thus seeks to help artists and performers leave their marks through its professional and artistic lenses.

Venue Partner

EVENT INFORMATION

North Point (East) Pier, Upper deck

2021.04.14-25

Free Admission.

Pre-registration is required.

  • In light of the latest COVID-19 situation, the exhibition date is subject to change. Please stay tuned for the latest updates on our website before visiting.

Online Registration starts 5 April 10:00am

Share Programme

TAGS

Related Programme

藝術行《待渡》

2021.04.14 - 2021.04.25
x

來自各方的,在這裏待渡

 

跨媒界項目《待渡》糅合視覺藝術、互動裝置、聲境、形體演出、在地書寫及閱讀,於北角(東)渡輪碼頭,跟香港詩人梁秉鈞(也斯)筆下的〈北角汽車渡海碼頭〉遙遙對望。

由陶瓷藝術家尹麗娟、媒體藝術家伍韶勁、作曲家林丰、形體演出編舞黃靜婷及策劃人張慧婷,與台前幕後眾多藝術工作者共同創作。邀請來自各方的,在這裏待渡。

在光影和聲音中,踏上碎裂瓷片,晃盪於韆鞦裝置,打一通無人接聽的電話⋯⋯徘徊之間,沉澱此時此刻。

  • 語言無障礙節目
  • 所有活動於碼頭上層空間內進行,並不包括船上/海上活動
  • 適合任何年齡人士參與,未滿18歲之參加者須由成年人陪同出席,並以一人一票形式登記

共同創作

陶藝:尹麗娟

現為香港浸會大學視覺藝術院擔任副教授。分別於 1996 及 1999 年獲取香港中文大學藝術學士及碩士。曾參與多個本地及海外展覽,並榮獲亞洲文化協會獎助金(2000年)、香港藝術發展局海外駐留計劃奬金,亦為 2003 年香港藝術雙年展之獲奬藝術家。其藝術駐留足跡遍佈美國、日本及丹麥(2001至2004年),後於 2011 年受邀於日本滋賀縣立陶藝之森創作研修館擔任客席藝術家。以香港代表於 2016 年獲選為光州雙年展參展藝術家,以及 2019 年獲選為日本越後妻有大地藝術祭香港部屋參展藝術家。

媒體裝置:伍韶勁

跨媒體藝術家,擅長概念式、場域為本的創作,以光影、聲音等非物質媒介,讓觀眾注意每每被忽略的事物。近作包括《二十五分鐘後》,把電車改造為「流動暗室」;《大禹之後》,將體積達40個標準游泳池的地下蓄洪池化為藝術場域;以及將夜間溫室變成遊觀藝術及音樂旅程的《空氣頌》。作品曾於多個著名場地展出,包括法國龐比度中心IRCAM音樂研究所、意大利羅馬現代藝術美術館、南澳當代美術中心、加拿大InterAccess電子媒體藝術中心、日本越後妻有大地藝術祭、廣州三年展、上海世博會里爾歐洲館、外蒙古地景藝術雙年展等。於2013年獲亞洲文化協會獎助金。

聲境:林丰

林丰的作品曾於紐約卡內基音樂廳、柏林音樂廳、悉尼歌劇院、倫敦皇家阿爾伯特音樂廳、倫敦南岸中心等國際音樂殿堂演出,更為英國廣播公司(BBC)委約的首位香港作曲家。他的作品甚豐,包括2012年BBC逍遙音樂會中首演的《無盡藏》,以及為慶祝香港管弦樂團成立四十週年而創作的作品《蘊》。除純音樂作品外,他亦曾經為舞蹈、戲劇、聲音裝置、多媒體作品創作音樂。他持英國薩塞克斯大學作曲博士學位,曾任香港管弦樂團駐團作曲家及藝術策劃總監,並獲香港藝術發展局頒發2011年度藝術新秀獎。

形體演出創作:黃靜婷

畢業於香港演藝學院,並於美國霍林斯大學榮獲舞蹈碩士學位。2012年赴捷克布拉格深造戲劇及表演課程。現為香港兆基創意書院表演藝術科課程統籌。近作有:《遙遙之城@自由空間》(2020);第四十八屆香港藝術節委約作品《人圖》(2020) ;「賽馬會藝壇新勢力」流動舞蹈劇場《遙遙之城》(2018)。《夜光飛行》(2018) 獲提名2019香港舞蹈獎「傑出環境舞蹈」及「傑出群舞演出」;《人間.獨.白 II》(2017) 被邀到世界各地藝術節演出及交流,包括捷克布拉格劇場設計四年展(2019)、韓國釜山國際舞蹈博覽會(2018)及德國杜塞爾多夫國際舞蹈博覽會(2016)、澳洲阿德萊德澳亞藝術節舞蹈交流平台《Dance Lab》(2017、2018)、CINARS表演藝術交易會2018、西九文化區管理局與澳洲墨爾本舞蹈機構Dancehouse合作的駐地交流計劃(2019)。

策劃:張慧婷

張慧婷主要從事白牆以外的藝術創作,在公共空間及不同社區策劃過程為本的項目。近期項目包括在大帽山川龍的社區藝術計劃《邂逅!山川人》、與南韓慶州家庭合作的公共藝術項目《Haneure Byeolttagi》、於「油街實現」探討可持續生活的《如果我們還有空間》。她亦寫作,並曾於台灣、英國、美國及加拿大展出閱讀裝置。於2015年獲亞洲文化協會獎助金。

偶發演出

形體演出:盧敬燊

2015年畢業於香港演藝學院,主修現代舞,2017年在倫敦當代舞蹈學院修畢舞蹈碩士課程。現為自由身舞者,曾合作的香港、海外藝術家和舞團包括羅雅詩(西班牙)、Clod Ensemble(英國)、Neon Dance(英國)、Philippe Blanchard(法國)、Panorama Dance Theatre(瑞士)、多空間、邱加希、盤彦燊等。

形體演出:陳曉玲

陳氏畢業於香港演藝學院,主修中國舞,現為新約舞流駐團藝術家。陳氏於2012至2014為動藝的駐團舞者,期間參與2018年「舞蹈新鮮人」系列《Lordagsgodis》演出。其作品《第十六天》曾於2016年香港藝術節及2017年城市當代藝術節中演出。另外,她亦從事藝術教育及表達藝術治療工作,致力鼓勵學生在編舞過程中發揮創意,體驗身體律動之餘,同時培養個人成長及發展。

音樂演出 (快將公布)

技術團隊

技術監督:黃子珏

佈景及錄像設計師,合作單位包括全劇場、香港舞蹈團及其兒童、青少年團等。除了舞台項目,亦活躍於不同類型的製作,糅合專業技術與創新思維。近年監督的製作包括《二十五分鐘後》、《邂逅!老房子》(林嵐 X 三棟屋博物館)。

裝置統籌:丁立德

丁立德現為藝術工作者,畢業於香港浸會大學視覺藝術院,作品以探索自己的感覺為始,結合不同素材並以雕塑,裝置藝術呈現。

裝置統籌:謝俊昇

謝俊昇的作品多探討日常生活中不以為然之事物的可能性,並以裝置呈現中間有趣的關係。他鍾情於發掘不同的聲音,表達其聯想以及聲音對他的意義。

裝置製作: Studio Mary

Studio Mary 是一個香港創意工作團隊,涉獵多元化的設計,著重創意發想。從創作源頭開展,包括形象識別規劃、數位媒體設計、藝術指導等,規劃相應的實體及數碼體驗。

木匠:林池

從事木工行業30多年 。近年開始嘗試以自己最熟悉的手藝,延續廢棄木材的生命 ,亦積極傳授傳統榫卯技術予年輕一代。

燈光設計:謝徵燊

眾聲喧嘩成員。畢業於香港浸會大學,獲文學士(榮譽)學位,主修人文學;其後再畢業於香港演藝學院, 獲頒藝術學士(榮譽)學位,主修燈光設計。在學其間,先後獲Strand Lighting (Asia) Ltd. 獎學金及 Electronics Theatre Control Ltd. 獎學金到法國 Domaine de Boisbuchet 修讀聲音及空間課程,並赴布拉格舞台設計四年展作交流。 畢業後為不同藝術團體擔任本地及巡演製作之燈光設計及製作經理,包括:⻄九文化區、香 港藝術節、香港話劇團、香港舞蹈團、香港演藝學院、香港賽馬會、香港藝術中心、前進進戲劇工作坊、鄧樹榮戲劇工作室、華意堂、天邊外劇場、藝君子劇團、不加鎖舞踊館、凝動 劇場、何必館、團劇團、灣仔劇團、流白之間、一條褲製作、浪人劇場、7A 班戲劇組、一 張紙劇場等。
現為自由身燈光設計師、製作經理及香港演藝學院兼職講師。

聲音工程:楊我樺

畢業於1991年,2015年修畢碩士學位,現主要從事音響設計、唱片錄音製作,及參與聲音藝術創作。2003年及2017年分別獲第12屆香港舞台劇獎之最佳音響設計及第十九屆香港舞蹈年獎2017 傑出聲音設計。

服裝設計:文浩賢

先後畢業於香港理工大學紡織及服裝學系、香港浸會大學視覺藝術院,現正修讀英國布萊頓大學設計史及物質文化文學碩士課程。學術研究專注於物件與空間的意義重塑、物件作為人類生存證據的形式,以及尋常物件的美學。創作藉衣物套取人於生活中殘留的生命痕跡與私密情感,以尋回物件在極端資本主義下所失落的本質。作品曾於多地展出,服裝系列《純真博物館》及《向田邦子的情書》分別入圍2016及2018年香港青年時裝設計家創作表演賽。曾任服裝設計師、造型師、電影服裝助理及文化編輯等,還是覺得為自己喜歡的人做衣服最快樂。

製作團隊

項目經理 + 故事收集:梁棨豪

畢業於香港大學文學院,曾在傳媒行業工作,現從事藝術行政。曾策劃社區藝術項目《故事驛站》(2018),探索可持續生活的《如果我們還有空間》(油街實現,2020);疫情之中突破地域界域的演出《空氣頌》(2020)擔任項目經理,亦是《邂逅!山川人》(2018)在地藝術小隊成員之一。

場地經理:姚銘珊

珠寶設計師。赴歐洲進修手工珠寶技術後,發現古老的珠寶製作手法原是藝術。以土生土長的香港人身份,演繹歐洲傳統技巧。除了珠寶設計外,近年也參與文化藝術活動的籌劃工作,在不同範疇中感受藝術的療癒,並在過程中激發創造力。

偶發演出執行 + 行政及勤務支援:陳子琳

畢業於嶺南大學文化研究系,熱愛表演藝術。現從事藝術行政。

偶發演出 + 行政及勤務支援:蕭慧覺

畢業於香港中文大學,現從事藝術行政,對後台工作饒有興趣,也熱愛打保齡球。

錄像統籌:郭靄儀

畢業於香港大學,雙主修比較文學與媒體及文化研究。現從事藝術文化項目統籌與影視製作及發行。監製作品《積雲》入選法國克萊蒙費宏國際短片影展、台灣南方影展等多個海外影展,並榮獲「第23屆ifva香港獨立短片及影像媒體比賽」銀獎,以及第11屆鮮浪潮公開組最佳編劇獎。之後連續數年監製香港電台外判劇集,包括《獅子山下2017:伯大尼》、《獅子山下2018:定風波》和《新導演放映室:在河畔》。

錄像製作:生活用紙

攝影是日常生活中經常接觸和使用的媒介。生活用紙相信最美的攝影作品要在紙張上呈現。創立於2009年,專注關於鏡頭的創作,從攝影到錄像,近年更涉獵虛擬實境。當代藝術除了展示重要一刻,良好的記錄及再呈現同樣不可或缺;生活用紙遂一直以專業和藝術視點,為不同的藝術及表演團體留下印記。

合作伙伴

活動詳情

北角(東)渡輪碼頭上層空間

2021.04.14-25

免費入場

須經網上預約入場參觀

  • 因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,入場人士需配合園内防疫措施。請留意網頁的最新公布。

網上登記於2021年4月5日早上10時開始

分享節目

相關標籤

相關節目