Home and Nonhome

Leung Chi Wo
2020.11.20 - 2020.12.11
x

In the project Home and Nonhome, Leung Chi Wo examines the immaterial and vacillating notion of “home” and proposes reflection on and counter-schema to the inertia material structure of residency. The artist transforms the non-home space, namely hotel rooms and lobby, into a space of reverberation and mediation. Home and Nonhome comprises two parts.

PART 1


No registration is required

In the hotel lobby, Leung re-creates his previous work Monuments for Solitude in Thailand Biennale Krabi 2018. The old telephone booth signifies a bygone way of communication between home and sojourner.

PART 2


Pre-registration is required

Leung situates Open Home (Hong Kong) (2007) and a new set of installation in two hotel rooms; the two-nonhome-hotel-room setting, insofar as ruminations of the two generations, renders oscillation between different views on the idea of intimate attachment at home.

Leung sets the project in a non-home sphere whereby schema of misplacement – home in a non-home sphere – is manoeuvred; it also suggests the notion of home is essentially emotional repercussions. Rather than a physical shelter, dwelling at home infers peaceful and settled emotional conditions. Home and Nonhome ignites rhetorical mediations on recent turbulence of Hong Kong: what if “home” becomes “non-home”, and what if “non-home” calms the shattering souls?

360˚ Virtual Tour coming soon!

Venue Partner:

Related Artist

Further Reading

NOV 20 – DEC 11

Free Admission

(Pre-registration is required for PART 2 of the project)

Share Programme

TAGS

Related Programme

Hands ᛫ Footprint ᛫ Sound #danceless performance series

Unlock Dancing Plaza

Brothers of War

Hoi Chiu

《家・不家》

梁志和
2020.11.20 - 2020.12.11
x

藝術家梁志和透過《家・不家》的創作,審視「家」的非物質和不確定意義,反省和顛覆對家作為居所的慣性連繫。藝術家利用兩部分作品,將「不家」的場地 ──酒店大堂及酒店房間,轉化成一個迴響意念舆議和的空間。

第一部分


No registration is required

置於酒店大堂的電話亭裝置,延續了梁氏於2018泰國國際雙年展的創作《孤寂遺跡》的創作。電話亭指舊日旅居者外遊時與「家」的聯繫;然而隨時代轉變,電話亭的角色及代表的聯繫方法已日漸被人遺忘。

第二部分


須經網上預約報名參觀

藝術家分別於兩個酒店房間內,展出舊作《開屋》聲音裝置(2007)及另一組全新作品。兩個「不家」的酒店房間,是對兩個不同年代的反思,遊走對於家的歸屬感的不同觀念。

藝術家特意將以「家」命題的作品放置在「不家」的場域展出,進一步探索「家」具備平靜心靈的作用,是情感的依歸,而不只是容身之處。《家・不家》就香港近月動盪環境之下提出詰問:當「家」變成「不家」,當「不家」之境亦能為破碎的心靈提供護蔭,將會怎樣?

實境網上導覽快將推出!

場地伙伴

相關藝術家

延伸閱讀

NOV 20 – DEC 11

免費入場

第二部分作品須經網上預約報名參觀

分享節目

相關標籤

相關節目

《手丨足丨聲》 #非關舞蹈 系列演出

不加鎖舞踊館

《沙兵馬將》

海潮