About JCNAP

The Annual Arts Festival for Hong Kong

Hong Kong arts has developed a prosperous arts scene, and has cultivated a wealth of talents whose works were greeted by the global arts scene with acclaim. Thanks to the funding of The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, the Hong Kong Arts Development Council (HKADC) has presented the JOCKEY CLUB New Arts Power since 2017. The Festival, comprising more than 100 arts events from September to January every year, brings together established and emerging local artists who flourished and received accolades worldwide to produce well-received, creative and engaging arts experiences filled with local elements for all. With its unique vision and exciting line-up of events, JOCKEY CLUB New Arts Power has developed into one of the most anticipated arts festivals in Hong Kong.

As an active champion of promoting outstanding Hong Kong artists, JOCKEY CLUB New Arts Power organised 25 performance programmes and a number of multimedia installations as well as exhibitions over the three years since its inception. Artists are provided full-pledged support to be focused on perfecting their works with further refinements in content and production. The Festival features a diversity of art genres including music, dance, theatre, xiqu, opera, experimental theatre as well as multi-media installations and visual arts.

Celebrating innovation and ingenuity, JOCKEY CLUB New Arts Power explores unique settings and locations in Hong Kong alternatively to provide a more spectacular viewing experiences  for the audience. The JOCKEY CLUB New Arts Power team works incessantly with the artists and venue partners in creating a wide range of well-received programmes. For example, Kingsley Ng presented after the deluge in 2018 using the underground Tai Hang Tung Storage Tank as an exhibition venue for the very first time. The Zaan Bak Fo exhibition in 2017 by Annie Wan took place at a traditional grocery store in Ping Shek Estate. The 2019 dance programme Contempo Lion Dance by Daniel Yeung was performed at Haw Par Music, a Grade I historic building.

JOCKEY CLUB New Arts Power also presents the “Mobile Theatre” in different districts of Hong Kong. In addition, cross-disciplinary artists are invited in the planning and production of the grand finale event “Arts Walk” with participants threading their ways through important landmarks and surrounding neighbourhoods. The event allows those who rarely take part in art activities to get a taste of artistic experience, engaging arts, performance, architecture, the community and more in a collaborative, cross-medium arts project.

A wide offering of JOCKEY CLUB New Arts Power school programmes in both arts education and arts experiencing are tailored to all levels of education including tertiary, secondary, primary and kindergarten students. Through activities such as open rehearsals, school tours, workshops and master classes, students develop creativity and a myriad of skills in their journey of growth as they gain exposure to different arts disciplines.

Arts emanate from life and also nourish our lives. JOCKEY CLUB New Arts Power actively partners with organisations from various sectors in presenting workshops, forums, exhibitions, guided tours to encourage exchange between local artists and members of the society. Through the arts festival, people of different ages, backgrounds from all walks of life including seniors, individuals with special needs, youths in residential homes and persons in custody are given opportunities to approach, participate and experience in arts.

For past JOCKEY CLUB New Arts Power programmes, please visit the webpage:
https://www.newartspower.hk/past-editions/?lang=en

關於賽馬會藝壇新勢力

屬於香港的年度藝術節

 

香港藝術發展活力充沛,每年為數不少的本地藝術家在海外大放異采。賽馬會藝壇新勢力自2017年首次舉辦,由香港藝術發展局主辦,香港賽馬會慈善信託基金捐助。計劃齊集在國際發光發熱的本地藝術家,於每年九月至翌年一月期間呈獻超過100個藝術活動,為社會各界帶來創意、水準與本土色彩兼並的藝術體驗。憑藉獨特的定位,精采的內容,賽馬會藝壇新勢力漸漸發展成為每年眾所期待的年度藝術盛事。

 

賽馬會藝壇新勢力積極推廣本地精英藝術家,3年以來,累積策劃25個表演節目、多個多媒體裝置及展覽。在計劃全力支持下,參與藝術家專注創作,力殝完美,將作品內容及製作再度提煉。形式不限,涵蓋音樂、舞蹈、戲劇、戲曲、歌劇、實驗劇場,以及多媒體裝置、視覺藝術等不同範疇。

 

賽馬會藝壇新勢力 一直敢於嘗試,走出傳統演出及展覽場地,發掘香港特色場域,為觀眾帶來不一樣的觀賞體驗。透過藝術家、場地伙伴與賽馬會藝壇新勢力團隊通力合作,創作出一個又一個廣受好評的計劃。例如:2018年伍韶勁《大禹之後》展覽,破天荒帶公眾走進大坑東地下蓄洪池;2017 年尹麗娟《珍百貨》展覽進駐坪石邨古老士多;2019年楊春江《舞‧獅》選址一級歷史建築虎豹樂圃演出。

 

每一屆賽馬會藝壇新勢力均設「流動劇場」(Mobile Theatre)及壓軸節目──藝術行(Arts Walk),邀請跨界別藝術家,遊走本地重要地標及社區,為過往鮮有接觸藝術的社群帶來特色演出。同時將藝術、表演、建築及社區完美結合。

 

賽馬會藝壇新勢力的學校專場活動,針對大、中、小學甚至幼稚園不同程度,度身設計出不同的藝術教育及體驗活動。透過公開綵排、到校演出、工作坊、大師班等,讓同學涉獵不同藝術範疇,在同學成長路上埋下創意種子,靜待發芽。

 

藝術源於生命,亦能潤澤生活。賽馬會藝壇新勢力積極跟社福機構合作,舉辦工作坊、座談會、展覽、導賞活動等,鼓勵社會不同人士與本地藝術家交流。包括長者、特殊人士、青少年院舍學員、在囚人士等,不同年齡、不同背景、不同階層亦能參與、接觸、感受藝術。